Mountain View’s Treese Fires 4 over to Claim NCPGA Title at Toftrees

Posted on

State College, PA–For the thrid year in a row sunny skies and comfortable temperatures welcomed 64 NCPGA tournament players to Toftrees Golf Resort today to close out the 2017 season. While today’s event marked the finale of the season, it also served as the battle ground for each divisions top players to compete for the season points championship.


The 50-59 year old division found Mountain View CC’s Kevin Treese claiming overall medalist firing a 3 over par 75 on the nearly 6400 yard course today.   Bucknell’s Ben Cook, last year’s champion, found himself two strokes off of the pace carding a 77.    Although Treese’s round was enough to claim the event title it wasn’t enough to pass Mark Searer for the season long point’s title.  Searer’s 81 was enough to maintain the points lead and earn the 2017 Divisional points title.


The seasonal leaders shined in the 60-69 division the top seasonal players led the way carding the low four round in their flight today.  Last year’s points champion, Tim Harpster of Bucknell claimed the division title today with a five over par 77, however it was fellow Bison, Steve Allen whose 79 was good enough for second on the day, but more importantly it was enough to maintain the top spot in the seasonal points competition.  The Bucknell duo was followed closely by Mountain View CC’s Paul Swanson and the host clubs Terry Cooper who fired 81 and 82 respectively.

It was payback time in the 70’s division as we are one year removed from Bucknell’s Dick Williamson leapfrogging York County’s Dale Bievenour with a strong finish to claim the 2016 title.  This year it was Williamson leading the way by only 30 points entering the day, however, Bievenour went out in even par 36 and held on with a four over par back nine to edge Williamson by two strokes and claim both the event and seasonal point titles on the same day.  Shade Mountain’s Tom Thompson carded a 79 to claim third prize in the division.

White Deer’s Pete Reasner posted an 89 to claim top prize in both the 80 & older division and the seasonal points.


Today’s event was the final event of the 2017 NCPGA Championship Series.  The NCPGA is greatful for the generosity of its 2016 sponsors, Blaise Alexander Family Dealership and the Goulden Touch Foundation.  For more information regarding the championship series visit


Participating clubs in the NCPGA are Bucknell G.C., Lewisburg,; Shade Mountain G.C., Middleburg; Susquehanna Valley C.C., Hummels Wharf; Corey Creek Country Club, Mansfield; Tyoga Country Club, Wellsboro; Wynding Brook Golf Club., Milton; White Deer G.C., Allenwood; Belles Springs G.C., Mackeyville; Clinton Country Club, Lock Haven; Mountain View C.C., Boalsburg; Eagles Mere Country Club, Eagles Mere;  Lost Creek GC, Oakland Mills; Lewistown Country Club, Lewistown; Knoebels Three Ponds Golf Club, Elysburg; Nittany Country Club, Bellefonte; Timber Trails Golf Club, Pocono Pines, Toftrees Golf Club, State College and Williamsport Country Club, Williamsport.


Kevin Treese,  39-36–75

Ben Cook,  37-40–77

Tom Mitchell,  42-39–81

Bruce Hoover,  41-40–81

Mark Searer,  39-42–81

Scott Stieler,  39-42–81

Tim Jordan,  42-40–82

Craig Edson,  41-44–85

Patrick Guerriero,  42-44–86

Andrew Stockdale,  45-43–88



Tim Harpster,  39-38–77

Steve Allen,  40-39–79

  1. Dan Swanson, 40-41–81

Terry Cooper,  43-39–82

Brian Knepp,  44-40–84

Donald Guise,  42-43–85

Joseph Cipriani,  45-42–87

James Cotner,  44-43–87

William Snyder,  39-48–87

Ken Donlavage,  46-44–90

David Kohler,  45-46–91

Larry Holcomb,  46-46–92

Rick Everett,  46-46–92

Jack Miller,  46-47–93

David Lauer,  48-46–94

Steve Moyer,  48-49–97

Ray Ostrom,  50-48–98

Charlie Route,  49-49–98

Robert Zimmerman,  48-50–98

Tom Graham,  49-50–99

Dean Paul,  49-50–99

Allen Neyhard,  50-54–104

John Ostrom,  51-54–105

Charles Duda,  54-58–112



Dale Bievenour,  36-40–76

Richard Williamson,  37-41–78

Tom Thompson,  40-39–79

Robert McNutt,  41-39–80

Bud McCartney,  41-39–80

John Pagana,  41-40–81

Thomas Egli,  40-41–81

Roger Andras,  39-42–81

Gary Fry,  42-40–82

Darrell Early,  41-44–85

Park McKissick,  43-43–86

Ted Laubach,  45-42–87

Lyle Brion,  44-43–87

William Kinley,  45-43–88

Jim Vanbuskirk,  42-46–88

Mike Fox,  44-46–90

Bernie Wolf,  45-46–91

Marvin Reeves,  44-47–91

Bob White,  47-45–92

Ed Shrodo,  46-48–94

Harold Rider,  49-46–95

Dan Travelet,  47-48–95

Jim Kreger,  46-50–96

Vince Maier,  53-47–100

Jim Hartman,  49-51–100

Gene Zartman,  52-49–101

  1. Edward Schon, 52-51–103



Pete Reasner,  43-46–89

Site Map | Site Development