81 Golfers to Vie for 5 U.S. Open Spots at Country Club of Scranton Wednesday

Posted on



Clarks Summit, Pa- A field of 81 golfers will compete on Wednesday, May 17th at the Country Club of Scranton for an opportunity to play in this year’s U.S. Open. Forty-five amateurs and thirty-six professionals will tee it up beginning at 8:00am for an 18-hole shootout for one of five spots to advance out of the local qualifier and an ultimate spot in the 2017 U.S. Open Championship. Country Club of Scranton will be hosting a US Open qualifying tournament for the third time according to Jeff Ranck of Lewisburg, the USGA Official in charge. They last hosted the Open Local in 2013.

The US Open will be played on June 15-18h at Erin Hills in Erin, Wisconsin. There are 8979 golfers competing for 525 spots to advance out of the 111 local qualifying spots in the United States, Great Britain, Canada and Asia. Those 525 players who advance will join 455 players who are exempt from local qualifying and will compete over 36 holes at one of 13 sectional qualifying sites for a number of spots to be determined in the final open field. In order to enter, golf professionals and amateurs with a handicap index of 1.4 or lower are eligible.

Established in 1896, The 7000 yard long par 72 Scranton layout was originally designed by Walter Travis and opened in 1927. In 2012, an extensive renovation of the bunkers and green complexes by the Fazio Design Group led by Tom Marzolf was completed. They hosted the Pennsylvania Amateur in 2015 and will host the Jay Sigel Match Play Championship in July.

Play will begin at 8:00 am on Wednesday. Spectators are welcome.

2017 U.S. Open Local Qualifier
May 17, 2017
8:00 am — Jacob Reilly, Hershey, Pa. ; Gary McCabe, Philadelphia, Pa. ; Tyler McGarry, Pittston, Pa.
8:10 am — Ryne Luce, Nicholson, Pa. ; Dalton Deardorff, Cashtown, Pa. ; Michael Weinert, Tamaqua, Pa.
8:20 am — Ryan Kline, Kutztown, Pa. ; Scott Cahayla, Wilmington, Del. ; Alex Blickle, Reading, Pa.
8:30 am — Mike Dagenais, Canada ; Paul Moxen, Clarks Summit, Pa. ; Bill Smith, Hazleton, Pa.
8:40 am — Colin Morgan, Canada ; Kyle Nedlik, Binghamton, N.Y. ; Ryan Brown, Scranton, Pa.
8:50 am — Brandon Cho, Suwanee, Ga. ; Andrew Turner, Honeybrook, Pa. ; Brandon Matthews, Dupont, Pa.
9:00 am — John Hartzell, Bangor, Pa. ; Michael Kelly, Alexandria, Va. ; Gregory Pieczynski, Kingston, Pa.
9:10 am — Devin Ryan, Seguin, Texas ; Todd Vonderheid, Lewisburg, Pa. ; Grant Griffiths, Conshohocken, Pa.
9:20 am — Matthew Baker, Orlando, Fla. ; Grant Skyllas, Wyomissing, Pa. ; Brian Bergstol, Roseto, Pa.
9:30 am — Owen Rush, Charlotte, Mich. ; TJ Howe, Osceola, Pa. ; Steven Gonzales, Bangor, Pa.
9:40 am — Gus Steiger, Milford, Pa. ; Kyle Wambold, Macungie, Pa. ; John Roche, Moosic, Pa.
9:50 am — Marco Nieto, Eynon, Pa. ; Kyle Tasselmyer, Honesdale, Pa. ; Ryan Dimmick, Charlotte, N.C.
10:00 am — Dominic Schiavone, Bangor, Pa. ; Dakota Brown, Tunkhannock, Pa. ; Richard Riva, Lancaster, Pa.
10:10 am — Michael Ferguson, Conshohocken, Pa. ; William Knauth, Williamsport, Pa. ; Luke Lanzetta-Vargo, Chadds Ford, Pa.
10:20 am — Spencer Lunger, Nicholson, Pa. ; Tyler Brewington, Red Bank, Nj, N.J. ; Bret Howey, Nazareth, Pa.
10:30 am — J.t. Barker, Bethlehem, Pa. ; Marc Hocking, Johnson City, N.Y. ; Nick Biondi, Moosic, Pa.
10:40 am — Bill King, Wall, N.J. ; Tim Johnson, Skaneateles, N.Y. ; Kevin Rossi, Scranton, Pa.
10:50 am — Greg Wall, Clarks Summit, Pa. ; Kyle Vance, Audubon, Pa. ; Grant Gulick, Endwell, N.Y.
11:00 am — Riley Hogan, Saylorsburg, Pa. ; Justin Tresslar, Saylorsburg, Pa. ; William Mirams, Stroudsburg, Pa.
11:10 am — Joseph Markmann, Doylestown, Pa. ; David Mecca, Clarks Summit, Pa. ; Corey McAlarney, Clifford
Township, Pa.
11:20 am — Michael Thomas, Scott Township, Pa. ; Drew Petri, New Hope, Pa. ; Connor Schmidt, Venetia, Pa.
11:30 am — Austin Smith, Dallas, Pa. ; Mike Jiggins, Canada ; Michael Molino, Dallas, Pa.
11:40 am — Matthew Fennema, Scranton, Pa. ; Eric Williams, Honesdale, Pa. ; Nick Paone, Jessup, Pa.
11:50 am — Michael Rush, Charlotte, N.C. ; Ben Kassman, Grantville, Pa. ; John Pillar, Hawley, Pa.
12:00 pm — Mariano Medico, Shavertown, Pa. ; Hogan Bendert, Endicott, N.Y. ; Patrick Ross, Dunmore, Pa.
12:10 pm — Jason Hartline, East Stroudsburg, Pa. ; Sun Kim, Canada ; Chris Miller, Scranton, Pa.
12:20 pm — Xander McDonald-Smith, Rockaway Park, N.Y. ; Nathan Fry, Nazareth, Pa. ; Dustin McCormick, East Stroudsburg, Pa.

Site Map | Site Development